Non-Governmental Imagination


Goodbye Ecuador, Hello Peru
December 4, 2006, 7:36 am
Filed under: Ecuador

So I have not been able to update this as much as I would like.  I am now in Piura, Peru, after a 12hr bus ride that was supposed to be 8hrs.  I have to be awake in four hours, so I will keep this brief.

I had a great time in Portoviejo, even though I worked too hard. 

Afterwards Jorge took us to this beach town called Salinas where we relaxed for 24 hrs before going back to Guayaquil.  We went sport fishing (Jorge said we were the buccaneers, but we didnt catch anything) and hung out.  We lived The Good Life, going to lunch at the yacht club, hanging out at his girlfriends beachfront condo, sleeping at his big-ass house, driving in his BMW. 

I am not saying he hasnt earned all of his wealth.  The amount of his time/money/energy that he gives to the poor surpasses that of any American that I know (myself regretfully included).  I frankly think it is arrogant for people to accept wealth in the US as morally neutral but to deride the the rich in other countries because they are somehow more responsible for global poverty. 

But I digress.  It was weird because I always have this idea of doing things on the cheap to save money for Interplast, so eating at yacht clubs a day after helping the uber poor was a bit of a change.  The patients we help are poor.  The folks who do the helping are not.  And truth be told, I was fucking exhausted, and the R&R really gave me new wind for another busy week of 20hr days. 

I had this image of Peru being lush and green or cold and mountainous, but the part the bus drove through was a bland desert.  Ecuador was beautiful with bananas and cacao growing everywhere and the lushness was ready to leap off the road.  That lushness turned to dust in Peru.  Luckily, the Ecuadorian customs dude didnt care that my embarkation card or whatever had also turned to dust. 

I will be here for a week, and might have more internet access, but who knows.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

