Non-Governmental Imagination


Antidote for burnout: Power to the Peaceful Festival
September 6, 2006, 7:38 am
Filed under: Health, Visionaries

This upcoming Saturday is Michael Franti’s annual Power to the Peaceful Festival in Golden Gate Park. If you live anywhere near the SF bay area, you should definitely check it out. It’s free (suggested donation: $1), and there’s lots of great bands (check out Brett Dennen), orgs, people, artists and food.

One of the issues I’ve been wrestling with recently is burnout. I’m pretty much exhausted all the time, and I’m so busy trying to spend enough time with Erin, my friends, my family, Interplast, my hobbies, my reading, my softball team (The Matzah Ballstars) and my dreams that I end up doing all of them an injustice. I feel like I have a ton of acquaintances that I’ll never really become friends with because I just don’t have time. So I rush around trying to sqeeze everything and everyone in.

It’s not working. And it’s not healthy.

It’s important to take time out to take a breath, go to a park and just chill out. At the recent Craigslist Nonprofit Bootcamp, Van Jones of the Ella Baker Center for Human Rights gave an immensely inspiring talk (anyone wanna come with me to their gala on 9/14 in Oakland? I need a date) in which he mentioned the need to take breathers.

So this weekend I’m gonna take his advice. I’ll be at the park. I’m not gonna sweat getting there on time, I don’t care where I sit, I’m just gonna hear some music, talk to some people, eat some food, and get (re)inspired.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

