Non-Governmental Imagination


Why I’m at BlogHer: Mommyblogging!
July 29, 2006, 6:49 pm
Filed under: Blogs, Imagination

So BlogHer is about women and blogging and I am not a woman. So what am I doing here?

Well, besides all these reasons, I’m really curious about this whole Mommy Blogging thing. I view the Internet as nothing more than a tool for connecting people, and moms have utilized this like no other (with geeks, politicos and 13 year-old girls being the only possible exceptions in my opinion). I view mothers as extraordinarily busy people doing the most important work on Earth: raising kids. But as they will all tell you, that’s only one piece of their lives. And they find time to not just blog about it, but to make real connections with other moms.

Blows my mind. Although I have no intention of ever becoming a mother, I am thoroughly impressed with the value they get out of the internet.

If I were to become a mother (ignoring the whole “I’m a guy” thing), I’d be scared shitless. How do I care for this little ball of humanity? How do I raise him/her right? How do I keep other areas of my life fulfilled? What the hell is a wiggle, and why does it conjure up violent thoughts in my head?

I could go read some book by a PhD in cognitive development or some celebrity who became a mom. Or I could, for free, read about how everyday schmos like me answer all these questions. Brilliant.

I’m not just curious for curiosity’s sake. I’d love to find a way to emulate their kickasshood with my efforts at work. But I am still very curious on a personal level, and I’m hoping to do a lot of listening today.

Tags: , ,

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

This is a rockin’ post, Seth. A really great way to be there. 🙂

Comment by Tara 'Miss Rogue' Hunt




Leave a Reply

