Non-Governmental Imagination


Goodsearch.com: Searching For Good?
January 6, 2006, 7:35 am
Filed under: Imagination

Check out Goodsearch.com, which I found on Beth’s Blog. Goodsearch is basically the Newman’s Own of search engines. It runs a Yahoo! search engine, but you get to pick a nonprofit to donate the revenues to, at $.01 per click.

Goodsearch has this interesting passage in their How It Works section:

GoodSearch is a company with a unique social mission, which involves giving as much money back to charity as possible while remaining a self-sustaining business. Our goal is to direct a minimum of 50 percent of revenues to the designated causes and increasing this percentage as the company matures (typically, socially aware companies donate anywhere from 1 percent to 20 percent).

Their goal is to direct 50 percent? What percentage are they directing now?

I wonder what their business model is. Maybe they expect ordinary people to use this over other search pages, or maybe they expect NGOs to do the legwork for them and promote it through e-newsletters to their constituiency.

I always like ways I can do good without having to go too much out of my way, and I certainly use search engines often enough. Maybe this will catch on, who knows? I searched for Interplast and made them a cool three cents. If anyone is out there, I’d be curious to hear what others think of this nifty little idea.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] So it seems GoodSearch has a new competitor: GoodTree. I’ve previously discussed GoodSearch’s business model, and my pleasure when they quickly responded to my questions. So when GoodTree popped up I thought I’d revisit the “space”. […]

Pingback by Non-Governmental Imagination




Leave a Reply

