Non-Governmental Imagination


An Open Letter to GoodTree
October 23, 2006, 8:01 am
Filed under: Donations, GoodTree, Imagination

I just wrote this email to GoodTree, let’s see if they say anything back:

Dear Goodtree,

Last month, I discussed GoodTree on my blog, Non-Governmental Imagination, and I am currently getting lots (for me) of comments about my review. I said I thought Goodtree was legit, but I expressed some doubt. Many of the comments on my site raise valid concerns about some of your practices, namely asking for people’s email passwords, having vaugely worded policies and displaying odd search results.

After considering their points, I am inclined to agree with their skepticism about GoodTree’s legitimacy. I thought it would be fair of me to give you the benefit of the doubt and let you respond to these issues.

My post is currenlty #3 on google’s ranking of “goodtree” and #2 on goodtree’s, so you may want to reconsider your policy of ignoring my emails. I’d be happy to post any response from you.

Sincerely,
Seth Mazow

Update: James Currier, founder of GoodTree, responded.  See the comments below or this post:

Tags: , ,

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Excellent letter! I am guessing you have received no response?

Comment by foolswisdom

[...] After I received an unsolicited “invite email” from someone I do not know, I did some Google and Technorati searches to find out more about GoodTree. I was really hopefully, but my limited research was not reassuring. After searching I posted a couple of comments. [...]

Pingback by A Fool’s Wisdom » GoodTree?

Seth,
Hi, this is James Currier, the founder of GoodTree. Sorry we didn’t get back to you. We’ve been suprised by the popularity of the site, and have been rushing to put the infrastructure in place to make it a real company that responds to emails and/or blog posts in a prompt way. We now have a person answering emails, which we didn’t before.

I’ve responded, finally, to your post, it’s comment #14 and it’s long. I’ve tried to address all the concerns. The basic story is you were the first to blog about us and we’re not ready for scrutiny, so my apologies.

We hope to build a valuable and respected service, and I hope we can soon bury these negative posts with positive posts.

James Currier

Comment by James Currier

[...] James Currier, the founder of GoodTree, responded to two of my posts about GoodTree in the comments. I thought I would put his comments, verbatim, in a post so they can be read more easily by all. I’m tired so I won’t analyze it tonight, but here is the response from An Open Letter To GoodTree: Hi, this is James Currier, the founder of GoodTree. Sorry we didn’t get back to you. We’ve been suprised by the popularity of the site, and have been rushing to put the infrastructure in place to make it a real company that responds to emails and/or blog posts in a prompt way. We now have a person answering emails, which we didn’t before. [...]

Pingback by Non-Governmental Imagination




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

